Direct paymentsWakefield
If the council has agreed to pay towards care at home, you can take the money as a direct payment and choose who provides the care. Wakefield Council says a direct payment can pay a self-employed carer. Below is what the council publishes about its rates and rules, and what an hour of care costs near you.
78 self-employed carers within about 45 minutes of Wakefield
An hour of care in Wakefield
A budget worked out at the agency rate buys more hours from a self-employed carer. Employing a personal assistant costs less an hour again, but makes your family the employer. What a weekly budget buys each way is set out below.
What the council pays
These are the rates Wakefield Council publishes for direct payments, with a link to where each one appears. Your budget is set in your support plan and can differ from them.
| What the rate is for | Rate | Applies | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Personal assistant hourly rate for a cash budget (direct payment), current rate | £12.07 an hour | Not stated | wakefield.gov.uk |
| Personal assistant hourly rate for a cash budget (direct payment), proposed rate | £13.24 an hour | Not stated | wakefield.gov.uk |
| Self-employed worker hourly rate for a cash budget (direct payment), current rate | £13.59 an hour | Not stated | wakefield.gov.uk |
| Self-employed worker hourly rate for a cash budget (direct payment), proposed rate | £14.91 an hour | Not stated | wakefield.gov.uk |
| Personal assistant sleep-in night rate for a cash budget (direct payment), current rate | £47.62 a night | Not stated | wakefield.gov.uk |
| Personal assistant sleep-in night rate for a cash budget (direct payment), proposed rate | £52.24 a night | Not stated | wakefield.gov.uk |
Hours for the money
A direct payment is a sum of money, so the useful comparison is how many hours of care it pays for. Move the slider to your own weekly budget.
Starts at ten hours a week at the agency rate. Move it to match the budget in your support plan.
At £19.10 an hour. The typical rate near you, our fee included. The carer invoices for the hours, and that invoice is your record for the council.
At £25.50 an hour. The median published by 17 agencies near you. The agency sends whoever is on its rota.
At £14.91 an hour. The council’s rate for employing someone yourself. Your family becomes the employer, with payroll, holiday pay, pension and insurance to arrange.
Hours are rounded down to the half hour. Bank holidays are charged at one and a half times a carer's rate and Christmas Day at twice, so leave room in the budget for them. Wakefield Council decides what your direct payment can be spent on, and your support plan is the final word.
Choosing your carer
Wakefield Council allows a direct payment to pay a self-employed carer. The council's rate table lists a separate hourly rate for a self-employed worker paid through a cash budget, which is the council's term for a direct payment.
“Cash budgets - self employed | £13.59 | £14.91”
Councils tend to ask for the same few things before a direct payment pays a self-employed carer:
How direct payments work covers asking for one, what the money can buy and the records councils want back, and self-employed carer or employee? explains the tax question.
The council's arrangements
What the council publishes about paying the money, getting help and getting in touch. Each card links to the page we checked it against.
How the money is paid: Managed account
Penderels Trust, which supports people in Wakefield who receive a direct payment, also offers a managed account service.
Provider: Penderels Trust
Help with running it
Penderels Trust. Works in partnership with the council to support adults and children who receive a direct payment, including recruiting a personal assistant, employer duties, choosing and using a care agency, keeping accurate records and payroll.
Worth knowing
Wakefield uses the term Third Party Supported Accountant for an organisation that can help you manage your direct payment.
Worth knowing
Instead of a direct payment you can choose an Individual Service Fund, where a provider chosen from the council's accredited list holds the budget for you.
Worth knowing
Penderels Trust holds regular drop in sessions at libraries in and around Wakefield, where you can talk about your care and support needs and direct payments and drop off paperwork.
Who is available
78 carers are based within about 45 minutes of Wakefield. You can see their rates and experience, and message them, before committing to anything.
78 private carers are based within about 45 minutes of Wakefield
Filter by what they charge, who drives, who does nights, and who speaks your language, then message the ones you like. Free, and nothing is booked until you say so.
See private carers for WakefieldIn their words
“She was very professional and thorou and went above and beyond to support not just my auntie but us as a family”
Rebecca T., 2023
About Leanne J.Carer based in Doncaster · 5 reviews“Carla has been a god send with the implementation of bringing mum back home from respite care.”
Claire A., 2026
About Carla M.Carer based in Leeds · 3 reviews“Her attentiveness for Jon with MND was out of this world. She made him feel so comfortable.”
James P., 2025
About Eve T.Carer based in Leeds · 2 reviews“She was quickly able to identify Margaret’s needs and preferred way of doing things and the two were soon laughing and singing together!”
Linda C., 2026
About Wendy O.Carer based in Sheffield · 2 reviewsStep by step
Questions
Yes. The council's rate table lists a separate hourly rate for a self-employed worker paid through a cash budget, which is the council's term for a direct payment. The checks a council asks for are usually the carer's employment status for tax, their insurance and their DBS certificate. Carers on PrimeCarers are self-employed, hold an enhanced DBS and are insured while they work, and they invoice for the hours worked.
Wakefield Council publishes £14.91 an hour for a personal assistant. The full list, with links to where the council says so, is on this page. Your own budget is set in your support plan and can differ, for example if your needs include nights or two carers.
Usually it buys more hours. Carers near you typically charge £19.10 an hour against £25.50 for agency care, so a budget worked out at the agency rate buys more hours from a self-employed carer. If your budget was worked out at the personal assistant rate of £14.91, it buys fewer.
In England a direct payment cannot normally pay the person’s husband, wife or partner, or a close relative who lives in the same household, unless the council considers it necessary. That is the direct payments regulations rather than this council's own rule, so ask the direct payments team how it applies it. Can my mum pay me to care for her? covers the other routes.
Only if you employ somebody. Paying a self-employed carer or an agency does not make anyone an employer. Taking on a personal assistant does, which brings payroll, holiday pay, sick pay, pension enrolment and employer's liability insurance. HMRC's Check Employment Status for Tax tool on gov.uk tells you which applies.
Start with Wakefield Council's adult social care team, whose direct payments page has the current details. If you do not have a care assessment yet, ask for a needs assessment first.
Direct payments in nearby council areas
If the care needed is mainly about health, the NHS may pay for all of it through Continuing Healthcare, decided by the NHS rather than the council. In Wakefield that is NHS West Yorkshire.
Council details were read from Wakefield Council's published pages and checked against them on 17 September 2026. Councils change their rates each April, so check the linked page before relying on a figure. The local agency figure is the median of 17 agencies near Wakefield that publish a price. Carer rates are what carers near you advertise, read live.
See self-employed carers near you with their hourly rates, experience and reviews, and talk to the ones you like for free. Check with the council what your direct payment can pay for before you book.